Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Forgot what 'A hard days work' meant...  (Read 7723 times)

whitby_sam

• Joined Feb 2008
Forgot what 'A hard days work' meant...
« on: March 05, 2008, 11:45:33 pm »
As some of you may know I'm recently retired from the IT industry to pursue a more stress-free and relaxed life at the ripe old age of 27. As a contractor I wortended to work a solid 6-9 months on a big project and then there'd be a dry spell for 3-6 months during which I'd turn my hand to a bit of building, work in a garage, as a courier and even a stint as a 'bouncer' but never have I had to work as hard as I did today. I set out to turn the 'new' veg patch (as the other one's too full of mulch) with the rotorvator so I can get my early spuds in next week. I pulled the trusty mountfield (circa 300BC) from the back of the stable and stupidly decided 'itll be fine!' and dragged it down to my new potato plot without seeing if it'd start!
Not one to give up I marked out my 30X20ft patch with canes and set about lifting the turf using various combinations of spade/fork/rake/brute force/ignorance.
Lots of swearing and sweating later I had a nice patch of bare soil to turn. Now I DID have a nice 'man-size' fork until my dad kindly borrowed it (totally without my knowledge too!) but now I only have the slightly smaller 'Ladies-Size' (how very un-PC of me. Sorry) which made things all the more time-consuming. Several hours and a huge blister later I had a plot that was ready to plant but NO LIGHT! GRRRRR!

I think I did well though, while I was doing this I was also baby-sitting and keeping an eye on our minature yorkies (One of which has developed a taste for worms YUK!)

What a bloody hard days work. I also used some old bits of fence to make a planter for my grape vines (hmm, not sure they'll be very productive but gonna give them a chance anyway) cut half an acre of 'lawn' and burned some rubbish so feeling like I've achieved something.

rustyme