Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: probably silly question by new goat owner but here goes...  (Read 2230 times)

lizzypeg

• Joined Oct 2012
probably silly question by new goat owner but here goes...
« on: December 30, 2012, 04:59:52 pm »
we got 4 pygmy wethers as pets a few months ago.they are all fine.im a vet nurse for small animals so have vaccinated then, trim feet as need to ,etc..
but they are spending a lot of time out of there house in day in muddy pen/field...they chose to come out as house open so can go in when want to...but iv noticed they are getting a lot of mud stuck between toes that is pushing the toes apart....im guessing even though no one is lame that this must make walking uncomfortable as toes seem to me to be pushed further apart that were in autumn before the mud started compacting in there feet...will this harm them or cause feet to grow wrong and what can i do to stop it...

ScotsGirl

• Joined Dec 2009
  • Wiltshire
Re: probably silly question by new goat owner but here goes...
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2012, 05:35:50 pm »
My bigger goats were doing same and entrance round shelter is ankle deep in mud now. Eventually they started going lame and hate going rough it. As we were putting up another shelter next to it I decided enough was enough and they are shut in until I can get them sound and make a dry path for them.

I'm a newbie too but you could wash out mud in evening if shutting in and maybe give occasional spray with foot spray to protect.

jaykay

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Cumbria/N Yorks border
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2012, 05:49:34 pm »
To be honest, though it isn't very nice, it doesn't cause them too many problems and the mud breaks out every now and then. It certainly doesn't cause their feet to grow wrong. If you watch them walk, on certain types of ground, the two parts of their feet splay out quite far naturally.