Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: singer sewing machine -technical hitch  (Read 7012 times)

shygirl

• Joined May 2013
singer sewing machine -technical hitch
« on: October 20, 2013, 06:13:10 pm »
Iv inherited 2 singer sewing machines which are playing me up as I'm a beginner, and there is no handbook.
One is electric and about 30 yrs old and the other is antique with a turn handle , both are in good nick.
I think it's the tension in the bobbin of both that needs tweaking, as i keep getting loads of loose snags under my stitches. Iv now adjusted everything possible and nothing has helped. The electric machine in particular is dodgy as the bobbin seems to get tangled and there is then loads of thread jamming everything up. Iv rethreaded and changed the cotton. I know it was fine before it came to stay with me  :-[
Does anyone know of good book that teaches you the basics of using a sewing machine, please? As opposed to patterns.
Iv just started a home study dressmaking course so need to work it out pretty sheepish.
Thanks
« Last Edit: October 20, 2013, 06:18:07 pm by shygirl »

Backinwellies

• Global Moderator
  • Joined Sep 2012
  • Llandeilo Carmarthenshire
    • Nantygroes
    • Facebook
Re: singer sewing machine -technical hitch
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2013, 06:56:13 pm »
Have you tried googling the model for an instuction manual ?
Linda

Don't wrestle with pigs, they will love it and you will just get all muddy.

Let go of who you are and become who you are meant to be.

http://nantygroes.blogspot.co.uk/
www.nantygroes.co.uk
Nantygroes  facebook page

shygirl

• Joined May 2013
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2013, 07:01:51 pm »
No, that's an idea. I did look on the singer website but couldn't see anything.
Thanks

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Stirlingshire, Central Scotland
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2013, 07:37:13 pm »
Whereabouts are you Shygirl?  I'll cheerfully take a look for you if you're anywhere near me.

A few pointers though: