Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Paddock advice  (Read 5238 times)

Baggins

• Joined Jun 2009
Paddock advice
« on: June 08, 2009, 08:32:13 pm »
Hello everyone

I'm new to this game ... just acquired 2 acres split up into approximately 2 x 1 acre fields. I am getting 2 Kune Kune pigs and some ducks and would ideally like to give over an entire paddock for them to roam and live together. However, all the advice points towards splitting it up to allow for a "sacrifice" paddock ... is this really necessary for such an area with only 2 relatively small pigs? Would love to know what you think .....

Thanks in advance

MiriMaran

• Joined Feb 2009
  • Derbyshire
Re: Paddock advice
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2009, 08:49:10 pm »
Hello, I am also new to pig keeping!  I have a 1 3/4 acre field split into 2 unequal halves.  In the past we have used electric fencing split the field into further sections.  The smaller section has our 3 hen houses - the pigs are not allowed in this section as we don't want them breaking into the hen houses and stealing the food, knocking over water e.t.c.

The pigs have the larger section, which we decided not to split up and see what damage the pigs would do.  They do roam all over the field and certain areas have been 'ploughed', but so far it hasn't been too bad.  We plan to slaughter them in October and rest the field until Spring.

I guess for you it depends on what your land is like - drainage, soil type e.t.c.  We are taking the gamble to not strip grazing, but I may come to regret the plan if we have a wet summer.  If that the case the electric fencing will have to go up.  Suck it and see is my long winded suggestion!

MrRee

• Joined Jan 2008
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2009, 03:47:50 pm »
Your question has posed more questions..... Are you keeping them as pets or for slaughter?
                                                           Do you have a movable ark for them or a permanent house/shed/barn?