Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: First timer  (Read 5054 times)

Bobby

• Joined Jun 2009
First timer
« on: June 07, 2009, 06:37:11 pm »
Hello

I am about to start keeping chickens.  We will be getting 4 bantem hens.  Any advice would be good.
Thanks

jameslindsay

• Joined Feb 2009
  • Nr St Andrews, Fife
  • "Blossom" one of my Pygmy Goats
Re: First timer
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2009, 08:04:17 pm »
Bobby, welcome. If you have read some of the basics and have a house, food and a secure area for them go and buy your chooks. The best way to learn is to buy them and learn as you go. I am new to chickens myself, have always had ducks, but now think the chooks are brilliant. We all have to learn as we go, so that's my advice for you. I now have 7 and they have all settled in very well, they share their paddock with 7 Pygmy Goats and 2 rabbits and we have no problems. Buy them and enjoy them.

sheila

• Joined Apr 2008
  • Mablethorpe Lincolnshire
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2009, 08:36:53 pm »
 hi and welcome. Can I ask why you are getting bantams? They are not very good layers and they get broody quite a bit. Why not try some Isa Warrens or R.I.Rs

Bobby

• Joined Jun 2009
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2009, 08:52:32 pm »
Thanks for replying - I am totally new - someone at work mentioned bantoms - I don't understand the difference - or the terminology, just want a few chooks that will lay eggs
Bobby

jameslindsay

• Joined Feb 2009
  • Nr St Andrews, Fife
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2009, 08:58:29 pm »
You do get some beautiful Bantoms, they are ofcourse much smaller. I have Rhode Island red's and Isa Warrens. I had a RIR Bantam and she was a great wee thing but sadly she is one that the fox got last week.

sheila

• Joined Apr 2008
  • Mablethorpe Lincolnshire
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2009, 03:10:07 pm »
 You could look in the market place forum. There are black minorcans etc, all of which are good layers

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland