Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Worming??  (Read 5102 times)

Hillview Farm

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Surrey
  • Proud owner of sheep and Llamas!
Worming??
« on: December 13, 2012, 12:22:23 pm »
Hello all

I'm new to owning sheep but have experience with sheep but not worming. I bought 6 suffolk mule shearlings in september. They were wormed at the start of sept by the last owner.

When do I need to worm my girls?
How often?
And what is the best wormer to buy?

Thankss

lachlanandmarcus

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Aberdeenshire
Re: Worming??
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2012, 12:59:31 pm »
I have to admit that I dont worm unless its a new animal or unless there are any symptoms. The only routine treatment I do is heptavac P+ for the pregnant ladies and lambs. However we do have quite a low stocking rate and rotate the sheep and horses round which helps to prevent worm burden.

Hillview Farm

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Surrey
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2012, 01:06:42 pm »
There is no symptons and are on grazing that has never had sheep and not grazed by our cattle for years! They are on Heptavac P+. They are in the barn now as the ground is very wet and they were starting to go lame.

SteveHants

• Joined Aug 2011
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2012, 01:54:09 pm »
in the worm season (which is coming to an end) I would have fecal egg counts done every 8 weeks and worm according to results.

If you have a decent vet, this should be cheap. What you want the to ask for is 5+ small samples which they will then amalgamate to do a worm count for the whole flock - if a vet asks for one large blob of dung they are not doing it properly, unless they are sticking said blob in a blender, which I doubt. Normally costs £4-6 which is a darn sight cheaper than buying wormers.