Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Sheep attacking the dog..  (Read 7772 times)

plumseverywhere

• Joined Apr 2013
  • Worcestershire
    • Its Baaath Time
    • Facebook
Sheep attacking the dog..
« on: December 08, 2012, 03:26:59 pm »
How do I get the sheep used to having a dog around please? Just took the pup for a walk and while 4 sheep quickly walked away, my bossiest tame ewe ran at him and it could have been quite nasty. Is it just a case of everyone getting used to one another and how would you approach this please?  he had no interest in chasing so it was quite unprovoked (but I guess she felt threatened)
Smallholding in Worcestershire, making goats milk soap for www.itsbaaathtime.com and mum to 4 girls,  goats, sheep, chickens, dog, cat and garden snails...

Bionic

• Joined Dec 2010
  • Talley, Carmarthenshire
Re: Sheep attacking the dog..
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2012, 04:09:40 pm »
Plums I am no expert on this and I am sure others will be along with the 'proper' way to do things but with mine I just found it was a case of them getting used to each other. The dog has always been on the lead when in with the sheep, albeit a long lead, and after a while they all ignored each other.
Mine have all been away with the tup for 2 months and I am due to get them back next week so I will probably have to go through it again.
Sally
Life is like a bowl of cherries, mostly yummy but some dodgy bits

oaklandspigs

• Joined Nov 2009
  • East Sussex
    • OaklandsPigs
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2012, 04:20:36 pm »
Have always run our pups in a field of ewes - the easiest way to stop them becoming chasers - they quickly learn that ewes are to be to avoided whilst they're still very small.  A bossy ewe is quite useful, they'll come froward to the pup, if you're worried have it on a lead and pull it out of the way.  Most of our pups have been gently butted by a bossy ewe - they're made of rubber at that age, and soon learn !
www.Oaklandspigs.co.uk