Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Stockpot not big enough!  (Read 2892 times)

Bumblebear

• Joined Jun 2012
  • Norfolk
    • http://southwellski.blogspot.co.uk/
Stockpot not big enough!
« on: December 18, 2012, 05:52:00 pm »
please can someone recommend what size stockpot I should be looking at for my leg hams/stock etc. and where I could get one from?

The largest I have is 9 litres, which looked a monster wil I tried to fit a ham in it!!!  ;D

Geraint

• Joined Oct 2009
Re: Stockpot not big enough!
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2012, 10:39:39 am »
Hi Bumblebear
I'm no expert but I'm guessing the bigger the better? How big is your ham?
I saw one on a Kitchen Store in Cardiff which was 17L http://store.kitchenscookshop.co.uk/cookware/bourgeat-excellence-casserole-lid-32cm.html
but I think any good kitchen store near you should have big Stock pots that you could use? Have you asked a local school if they have any large pots they no longer use? Might be worth a try?
Best of luck..
Geraint

Eve

• Joined Jul 2010
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2012, 06:44:36 pm »
I looked into buying a 40 litre stock pot once, then realised we wouldn't be able to lift it when full!  ;D

Our biggest is only 6 litres, we make relatively small hams ;)

ZacB

• Joined Apr 2012
  • Suffolk
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2012, 09:57:39 pm »
Bumblebear - no help to you at this moment in time but we've picked up our stock pot / large pans when in France - really cheap, even worth leaving a few bottles of vino out to fit in.

MAK

• Joined Nov 2011
  • Middle ish of France
    • Cadeaux de La forge
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2012, 10:26:47 pm »
We do our hams or a head in a 20 litre pot. It seems smal compared to those sold on the market. They actually sell cauldrons that could not possibly be used in a house - the local speciality is Tete de Veau i.e big enough to take a cows head.