Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: thinking of getting some cattle  (Read 4523 times)

rochvima

• Joined Oct 2011
thinking of getting some cattle
« on: November 09, 2012, 07:03:54 pm »
Hi I am thinking of getting a couple of calves-it would be for meat. I have been offered 2 short leg dexters £250 each- are they any good for meat? I am a complete novice so any help greatly appreciated. Thank you

lachlanandmarcus

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Aberdeenshire
Re: thinking of getting some cattle
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2012, 07:10:41 pm »
Dexter meat is supposed to be very good. The only query I would have is re the short legged thing. Not a prob if going for slaughter but if you ever had any for breeding i think there are some genetic issues with the short legged Dexters, others will no doubt know more on this. So make sure you really will be able to send them off emotionally before you get them :-)))

rochvima

• Joined Oct 2011
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2012, 07:15:26 pm »
ok. Thanks for your reply, i will look into it more regarding short legged! Is there a breed you would suggest for a smallholder, specifically for meat?

ShaunP

• Joined Dec 2009
    • Timber Chalets and Lodges
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2012, 08:40:07 pm »
Just got 2 dexters myself as I have previously been very impressed with the meat quality. If you are not going to breed from them then the gene issue is not a problem.

lachlanandmarcus

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Aberdeenshire
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2012, 09:07:08 pm »
yes Dexters are excellent beef so wouldnt want to put you off if they are going off for meat, super beef from them. Other smaller cattle options would be Shetland or Kerry.

Factotum

• Joined Jun 2012
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2012, 09:38:12 pm »
I am a complete novice

What sort of facilities do you have and how much grazing land. If you're getting them now, how much hay do you have to feed them over the winter?