Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: ryeland ram wanted  (Read 2946 times)

maddy

• Joined Jul 2012
ryeland ram wanted
« on: October 01, 2012, 12:23:29 pm »
Hi I have just bought after much searching 4 female shearling ryelands.  Is it safe (bio security wise) to borrow or loan a ram or is it better to buy a ram and then have the problem of what he does the rest of the year?  This is my first venture at sheep owning.  What do others do with such a small number?   Many thanks for any advice.  Much appreciated.

moony

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Dent
Re: ryeland ram wanted
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2012, 12:35:48 pm »
My choice would be to buy and just leave him in with the ewes all year round as they are unlikely to come into season until Autumn time but I know others will have differing views.

Bionic

• Joined Dec 2010
  • Talley, Carmarthenshire
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2012, 12:37:57 pm »
Maddy,
I am totally new to this myself so please don't take this as gospel but this is what I have done.  I have 4 ewes myself who were ready for tupping and didn't want to buy a ram as I don't think 4 would give him enough work. Equally I really don't have enough land to keep him seperate the rest of the time.
My girls have just gone back to where I bought them from for a few weeks (holiday).
Apart from the fact that she has some lovely rams (Kaz - forum name), as mine came from her earlier in the year I am hoping that I get round the bio-security issue somewhat.
Sally
Life is like a bowl of cherries, mostly yummy but some dodgy bits

ellisr

• Joined Sep 2009
  • Wales
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2012, 12:43:27 pm »
I keep my ryeland rams in all year and have lambs every March. This only applies to my ryelands I have to take my cross ewes out or I have funny lambing times for them.

chickenfeed

« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2012, 01:16:20 pm »
where abouts are you maddy i know where there are some ryland rams for sale.

kaz

• Joined Jul 2008
  • Ceredigion