Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Shetland Feeding  (Read 17513 times)

domsmith

• Joined Aug 2012
  • sanquhar, dumfries and galloway
    • sunnyside farm
Shetland Feeding
« on: September 19, 2012, 08:51:28 pm »
Hi, i am new to horses and have just aquired 3 minature shetlands. purely as pets and for something to do. might see if they can help pull some things at some point.

I know they will survive on very poor grass and i need to watch them for weight etc. we have cows and sheep and so have tons of haylage in roundbales. my neighbour has thrown a fit at me intending to use the haylage for the ponies! she says they will get laminitas.

but surely its down to amount and quality of the haylage than just the fact that its haylage.

so i am now seeking advice on how to winter the little loves.

any advice will be appreciated

dominic

sabrina

• Joined Nov 2008
Re: Shetland Feeding
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2012, 09:26:57 pm »
I have fed haylage to my ponies when hay was in short supply. I have standard Shetlands. Fed in small nets so they cannot gorge and they should fine. Lots of breeders feed to their youngstock, even shetlands as it is better value and you need less hard food.

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2012, 09:34:00 pm »
I have a Highland and a Shetland, and I wouldn't feed either haylage. I just feel it's too rich for them - Smokey got way fat on it one year. I feed a mix of hay and straw over winter - gives them plenty bulk to fill their bellies and keep them warm, without the calories.

But I'm no expert - just saying what works for mine.

lachlanandmarcus

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Aberdeenshire
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2012, 10:56:09 pm »