Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Newbie looking at move to Ireland  (Read 5009 times)

defino

• Joined Aug 2012
Newbie looking at move to Ireland
« on: August 28, 2012, 05:56:49 pm »

Hi All
I'm a newbie to the site and wanted to ask for any advice/experience of relocating to rural Ireland from UK.
I'm looking to move to Ireland from UK with my girlfriend we would have a limited budget but have found a few cottages/small rural or semi rural properties within our price range that could be of interest. We would like to become as selfsufficientish as possible and would hopefully purchase any property outright so would need a no mortgage or loan but this would probably take most/all of our saving. We would look to grow as much as possible and keep a few hens and maybe a few livestock land permitting. We would have a small existing income of around €500 pm but would look to earn some type of topup income from Ireland but understand this may take time and wouldn't be easy in the current climate.
Does anyone with direct experience of rural living on a small income have any advice or can share experiences they have had.
All advice appreciated/welcome

Mallows Flock

• Joined Apr 2012
  • Shepton mallet
    • Somerset Pet Sitting and Dog Walking
Re: Newbie looking at move to Ireland
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2012, 07:52:50 pm »
I can't advise unfortunately, as I have NO experience of this but it sound wonderful and idyllic, and I hope you pull it off!!!   :) :) :)
From 3 to 30 and still flocking up!

defino

• Joined Aug 2012
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2012, 08:53:15 pm »
Hi Mallows flock
Thanks for your reply
We used to keep a small flock of ryelands which reached about 20 at it's peak. Also had around 15 Rhode Island reds and a few ducks.

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2012, 09:15:32 pm »