Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Best breed for crossing with Scotch Mules - Texel, Suffolk or Other ?  (Read 15199 times)

pixie2010

• Joined Jun 2010
Hi, I have been breeding Hebrideans for the last 4 years, but have also just bought 12 Scotch Mules and I am trying to determine the best breed of Tup put to them ..we tend to lamb outside, but could lamb inside if required but I am concerned that the Texel may be too difficult for a first-timer ?  Consequently, most people seem to be advising a Suffolk for easier lambing ??  we havent ever had to intervene with our Hebs, so I have little practical experience of lambing.  Any advice gratefully received ? 

SteveHants

• Joined Aug 2011
Just my opinion, like but I'd be nervous lambing mules outside - I've not met many that are easy lambing, they seem prone to problems whatever.

I believe the easiest lambing tup would probably be a charollais, but there is no way Id lamb a char x outdoors.

Sbom

• Joined Jul 2012
  • Staffordshire
Charolais would be easier lambing but depending on where you live not ideall for lambing outdoors. Although we have in the Midlands with no problems. Wouldnt recommend suffolks, big awkward and very slow to get up on there feet, not the best if there's foxes about. We have a Blue Texel tup at the moment,have had very little problems lambing and they are up and suckling faster than any other breed I've seen, although some Texels can produce big headed lambs which can cause problems at lambing.  I'd much sooner use a Charolais than a Suffolk that's for sure.

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
What about a Dorper?

ScotsGirl

• Joined Dec 2009
  • Wiltshire