Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Advice needed on Hebridean Black Face fleece:  (Read 7792 times)

Crafty Soo

• Joined Jul 2012
  • Hampshire
Advice needed on Hebridean Black Face fleece:
« on: July 21, 2012, 03:14:47 pm »
Hi,

The title says it all really...I have acquired the fleeces of nine Hebridean Black Face sheep and want to put them to good use. I am a total novice on this,  but I do love a challenge. I've done some research on washing fleece and it looks like I will be doing it manually as my washer is a front loader.

With a long haul ahead I would be really grateful if anyone can give me some idea what I can look forward to making with the end product? I don't mind pulling a heavy cart but a carrot at the end of it will make it easier...if you get what I mean.  ;)

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
Re: Advice needed on Hebridean Black Face fleece:
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2012, 03:31:15 pm »
Hi Crafty Soo.
I assume you are not talking about Hebridean Sheep, but about a variant of the Scottish Blackface?    I could share lots of info about Hebrideans, but I don't have any experience of working with Blackie fleece - sorry.   
Have you had a good look at it, to see if it is a double or single coat, how fine or coarse it is, whether straight or curly and if so how crimpy?  How old were the sheep it came from ie first shear or later?  How clean are the fleeces - are they dirty or do they contain a lot of veg matter?  Are the fleeces matted or open?

Are you looking to spin, or felt, or make pegloom rugs?  Do you have some idea of the kind of thing you would like to produce?   Will you be dyeing the fibre?
Even within a breed, individual sheep differ, so we need a clue before we can come up with some ideas  :thumbsup: