Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Pig safe plans??  (Read 4646 times)

secuono

• Joined Aug 2012
Pig safe plans??
« on: August 01, 2012, 08:18:22 pm »
No body seems to know what plants are safe for a pig to eat. I have a lot of mixed weeds I'd like to pull and toss into my pig pen. They are 3mo tiny pigs and their pen isn't ready, thus the tossing in of plants. They won't eat the egg I gave them, just their pellets...

ppd

• Joined Feb 2012
  • Sutherland
Re: Pig safe plans??
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2012, 08:40:45 pm »
Hi :wave:
I am new to pig keeping and mine are on a big area and choose what they want to eat of the 'foliage', but be careful when picking plants and letting them dry out as there are many things that animals won't eat when fresh (bitter tasting and not good for them), but dried can have no bad taste, but poisonous eg ragwort. I am sure that many others on here will let you know what is safe to pick etc

princesspiggy

« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2012, 08:49:22 pm »
im guessing ur plants in us r different from ours.
i once bought a land management book without realising it was written for australia, different grasses and plants so not helpful to me in scotland.
pigs r more sensible than goats.

oaklandspigs

• Joined Nov 2009
  • East Sussex
    • OaklandsPigs
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2012, 07:56:18 am »
Feed fresh and you should be ok, pigs are pretty cute about what to eat.

I have seen "ragwort is poisonous to pigs" mentioned several times in forums, but so far have found no authoritative source or studies into this. Clearly horses are highly sensitive to it, but I don’t know what dose would harm a pig. For instance alcohol is poisonous to humans!

If anyone knows of a written text from a “reaserch” source this would be good to share with forum members.

I certainly know of people keeping pigs in areas that have (or more accurately after the pigs have been there had) ragwort with no issues.

www.Oaklandspigs.co.uk