Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Poorly hen  (Read 3169 times)

northernengine

• Joined Nov 2011
Poorly hen
« on: July 12, 2012, 07:56:50 pm »
One of my ISA browns went off her legs a few days ago, and shes unable to get about.
She cant stand on her own, and I see that while one leg seems to be working fine, the other leg is pointing forwards at 90 degrees, and the toes are curled up.
I thought shed maybe had a stroke or something, but she is very alert, eating and drinking - its just the leg. I really dont want to have to put her down, so can anyone suggest what the problem and cure may be?
Thanks again people

in the hills

• Joined Feb 2012
Re: Poorly hen
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2012, 09:44:54 pm »
Sorry, not sure about this but since no other replies yet ........ Marek's disease has symptoms with legs at strange angles. I have no experience of this disease and don't know much about it. I think it usually affects younger birds and would think that ISA's are vaccinated. Maybe can still occur under stress  ???

Could the leg be broken/injured?

"Fowl Facts information centre" ...... sorry don't know how to do links but have a look at this site. It has information about Marek's but also other possibilities for leg injury.

Just guesses really. Hopefully someone else might come along with some ideas.

:fc:  for her.

northernengine

• Joined Nov 2011
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2012, 09:55:36 pm »
Thanks for the reply. Shes a pretty old girl, so its possible that any vaccination is no longer working??
I will keep her seperated and check her leg more throughly in the morning
I hope its not Mareks - I have 20 other hens, 7 of which are new.

chrismahon

• Joined Dec 2011
  • Gascony, France
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2012, 10:01:16 pm »