Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Ear tag - and torn ear!  (Read 9946 times)

Blackbird

• Joined Jul 2012
Ear tag - and torn ear!
« on: July 19, 2012, 06:55:40 am »
I'm new to sheep - they arrived less than a week ago. My Shetland ewe lamb, Snowdrop, insists on sticking her head throught the sheep netting to get to the grass on the other side (despite a plentiful supply in the field!).

She has ripped her yellow ear tag off - and torn her ear right across. I lured her with ewe nuts and managed to catch her (she is damn quick!). I've bathed the ear with surgical spirit and it looks OK - it can only have happened a few hours earlier. Sorry if this is a really stupid question, but do I need to do anything else as far as her welfare is concerned (e.g. get the vet to stitch it up) or just monitor to ensure it's not infected or attracting flies etc?

Also, I don't see how she can have a replacement tag put in as the ear is torn right across and of course it's likely to happen again. Our sheep are lawnmowers/hobby/pets only and will be with us till they die. Any advice most gratefully received! Thank you.
Where are we going - and why am I in this handcart?

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
Re: Ear tag - and torn ear!
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2012, 07:19:52 am »
Yup, that's why we all hate eartags.

You don't need to stitch it no, it'll heal (with a split) quite quickly.  Clean it again and give it a spray of Septiclense if it looks dirty; give her head a spray with a fly repellant if she is being bothered by flies.

I don't know what kind of tags you have, but the type which are two separate pieces of plastic, one each side of the ear - ie the plastic loop is split in two - are often better if you have sheep likely to put their heads through stockfencing.
Don't listen to the money men - they know the price of everything and the value of nothing