Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Advice required by new owner of two acre paddock.  (Read 26436 times)

Abendigo

• Joined Jul 2012
Advice required by new owner of two acre paddock.
« on: July 17, 2012, 03:12:30 pm »
Hello everyone.

I've recently purchased a converted barn which has half an acre of garden and a two acre paddock. Despite trawling the internet I'm still unsure of the best equipment to purchase to manage this and I was hoping that someone here could advise me. My major concern is the current length of the grass in the paddock, which hasn't been cut for several months, and owing to the copious recent rainfall is now about two feet tall. Once the paddock has been brought back 'under control', I intend to mow/top it regularly to ensure that the grass never gets to this length again.

Despite spending hours researching this subject, of which I have no prior knowledge or experience, I'm still unsure of whether I should purchase a ride-on lawn mower, a lawn tractor, an ATV with a pull behind topper, or a compact tractor and topper. The paddock is level and fairly flat, rectangular in shape, about 600 feet long and 110 feet wide. It isn't badly rutted nor is it particularly stony.

I'm concerned that a ride-on mower just isn't up to the job. There is no way I want grass collection so I need something which will mulch the cut grass which I understand a topper will do. I quite liked the idea of a compact tractor and topper for its versatility (I'll probably want to cultivate a bit of the land once I've settled in) but several people have advised me that tractors (particularly older second hand ones) are forever breaking down. An ATV sounds like good fun but I don't know if these 'pull behind' toppers are of any use - they are certainly expensive.