Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: adice for total newbie  (Read 5810 times)

sokel

• Joined Jun 2012
  • S W northumberland
adice for total newbie
« on: July 15, 2012, 11:13:11 pm »
We have our own pigs for pork
Rearing lambs this year for ourselves and familyo
We now have access to another 20 + Acres while a friend is out of the country{possibly untill summer 2013} we are thinking of beef/ rose veal. As said total newbie to cattle apart from feeding a neighbours calf its bottles for a week while they where away
Any advice needed or should we not even consider it 
Graham

sokel

• Joined Jun 2012
  • S W northumberland
Re: adice for total newbie
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2012, 07:44:39 pm »
Any advice would be good especialy anyone who has reared rose veal
Graham

Sbom

• Joined Jul 2012
  • Staffordshire
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2012, 09:23:58 pm »
We keep a few Dexters, non short. They have beeN no problem to keep and handle and the beef is delicious!
We had a Simmental x that had a problem with his leg that was going to be more of a problem as he got really heavy.....anyway we decided that instead of culling him as a calf we would rear him as long as he was comfortable. Well he grew like a weed, we kept his horns and nuts intact and had him killed at around 8/9 months as this is the age recommended for Rose veal. It was not unpleasant but I wouldn't go mad for it, it tasted like a cross between pork an beef. It seemed to need lots of flavour enhansers when cooking. I guess for me it just wasn't beef and I love beef!

Dan

• The Accidental Smallholder
  • Administrator
  • Joined Oct 2007
  • Carnoustie, Angus
    • The Accidental Smallholder
    • Facebook
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2012, 09:27:22 pm »
We keep Shetland cattle, and are really novices having had them less than 2 years.