Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Lamb wot got worried by a dog  (Read 3583 times)

kitchen cottage

Lamb wot got worried by a dog
« on: July 20, 2012, 09:32:07 am »
Well, its now 7 days since the attack.  He had a large antibiotic dose and then a five day course and two days ago he had a 5 day antibiotic.  His temperature went down to 39.8 and then when I did it day before yesterday was up again.  I didn't finish work until 11.30 last night so I didn't take it then, but how long before the temperature is in the normal range?  Also, he is in the cart lodge with a friend, given the wound is dry, once the field dries up, I'd like to put him out again.  For his benefit to get some grass.

I want to know when I can be sure he is on the mend.  :fc:

kitchen cottage

Re: Lamb wot got worried by a dog
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2012, 09:01:02 pm »
 :innocent: bump for help...

deepinthewoods

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2012, 09:09:45 pm »
im no lamb expert but i d be watching his temperature.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2012, 10:54:29 pm by deepinthewoods »

Mammyshaz

• Joined Feb 2012
  • Durham
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2012, 10:17:39 pm »
A relapse in high temperature or off colour can be a sign of an abscess developing under the healing wound. Dog bites in any species are notorious for this. I only have experience in pet animals but would then advise to keep wounds one and flush copiously for up to a week before allowing the area to seal. This may not be viable in sheep due to the high risk of flystrike.

Any comments or views on this from an experienced TAS please.

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2012, 12:33:57 am »
Antibiotics and let the wound heal to keep the flies off.