Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Advise on goats for newBie  (Read 2892 times)

Charliechix

• Joined Jun 2012
Advise on goats for newBie
« on: June 26, 2012, 11:00:27 pm »
Hello
My sister is getting married in September and I have managed to convince my dad she can use its land to keep a couple of goats.
I have read a little but would love some advice on type of goat to get. I was thinking two nanny kids and see how things go?
Really appreciate some help
Thanks

smudger

• Joined Jan 2012
  • North Devon/ West Exmoor
Re: Advise on goats for newBie
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2012, 09:09:47 am »
I'm a complete novice so will bow to more useful advice which will come. I will say I did not envisage how time consuming milking is, so I'd make sure your sister is on board with the purchase. I presume she could just let the goats rear their own kids fully but if in milk and no kids attached she will need to milk daily, and probably 2x daily if high milker.

Alternative is to go for a fibre goat (or a few pigmies if only for 'pet' purposes).

They also need good/high fences, shelter and browsing opportunities and probably hay/feed all year round. Sheep are better grazers and less time intensive outside of lambing/shearing.
Traditional and Rare breed livestock -  Golden Guernsey Goats, Blackmoor Flock Shetland and Lleyn Sheep, Pilgrim Geese and Norfolk Black Turkeys. Capallisky Irish Sport Horse Stud.

plumseverywhere

• Joined Apr 2013
  • Worcestershire
    • Its Baaath Time
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2012, 09:54:17 am »
Hello Charliechix

Welcome to TAS  :wave:

First thing to consider is that goats are a HUGE commitment. Even if you aren't milking, you will still need to be on hand for twice daily feeding, ensuring they have fresh water (they drink quite a lot!) aware that if they are going to get ill it will be at the most inconvenient time possible (ie. xmas day, 3am, when there is a blizzard...)