Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Jacob orphans  (Read 3327 times)

vkmcc

• Joined Nov 2011
  • Renfrewshire
Jacob orphans
« on: May 30, 2012, 07:09:00 pm »
Hi im very new to lambing and last night had a set of triplets and a single lamb born to my Jacob ewes. Sadly the ewe that had triplets died this afternoon. Im trying to pair one of the lambs up to the ewe that had the single but would appreciate any advice as local farmer has told me jacobs are impossible to get to accept other lambs and that i will just have to hand rear them myslef. Has anyone got any experience with doing this with Jacobs??

Brucklay

• Joined Apr 2010
  • Perthshire
    • Brucklay Pygmy Goats
    • Facebook
Re: Jacob orphans
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2012, 07:25:40 pm »
We had Jacobs but have not had to get a ewe to accept an orphan but if I was in your position I would give it a go - may sound a bit yuckie but do you have any soggie straw or anything from the birth of the single that you could rub on the potential adoptee - someone else I sure will have better words of wisdom
Pygmy Goats, Shetland Sheep, Zip & Indie the Border Collies, BeeBee the cat and a wreak of a building to renovate!!

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2012, 07:31:27 pm »
Personally I wouldn't try to add a second to a single except at the moment of birth - and that's any breed, and including first-timers.

If you do decide to give it a try I suspect you'll need to use an adopter or similar, so she can't see who's suckling until the adoptee smells the same as her own lamb - which will take up to a week.

I presume you're rearing the other two triplets on the bottle - easier on you, the single mum and quite possibly the lamb to just rear the three on the bottle, IMO.  Sorry!
Don't listen to the money men - they know the price of everything and the value of nothing