Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: injection technique  (Read 4535 times)

kate. x

• Joined May 2012
  • west yorkshire
injection technique
« on: June 11, 2012, 02:21:31 pm »
Hi> thought should start a new topic with this query rather than just tagging it on the end of my last post!

I am just about to start to give one of my lambs an antibiotic injection, I know it should go IM, inside hind leg but ........ any tips??

I am a nurse so have given many an injection but lambs are different!!

3 dogs,2 tortoises, 6 cats 4 hens 4 Belgians, 2 lambs,, 2 rabbits, fish, the list goes on!!!

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
Re: injection technique
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2012, 04:04:29 pm »
I give IM injections in the outside of the back leg, taking the same precautions as with a person to avoid nerves and blood vessels.  You have to open up the wool to skin so it doesn't get caught in the point of the needle.   If injecting alone, I sit the sheep on its bottom, leaning against my legs, reach over and hold the back foot so leg is flexed and therefore relaxed, tap the skin a couple of times before injecting, then go ahead.  They usually try to kick just before you've finished  ::)   If the sheep is too large for that then I would crowd it into a corner, hold it with my body and inject as quickly as possible.   They are easier than people as they have no expectation of pain.  :sheep:
Oh and they appreciate a treat afterwards, although the 'I was brave' sticker is optional  ;D
« Last Edit: June 11, 2012, 04:06:16 pm by Fleecewife »
"Let's not talk about what we can do, but do what we can"

There is NO planet B - what are YOU doing to save our home?

Do something today that your future self will thank you for - plant a tree

Love your soil - it's the lifeblood of your land.

jaykay

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Cumbria/N Yorks border
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2012, 04:43:04 pm »