Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Chicken coop  (Read 11007 times)

dt400

• Joined Apr 2012
Chicken coop
« on: May 05, 2012, 07:46:08 am »
Hi all

Does anyone have any experience of any of the chicken coops for sale on ebay, robustness finish etc.

Thanks Clive

Bionic

• Joined Dec 2010
  • Talley, Carmarthenshire
Re: Chicken coop
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2012, 07:53:00 am »
Clive,
I bought one recently.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LARGE-7FT-COCOON-CHICKEN-HEN-HOUSE-COOP-POULTRY-ARK-RUN-ROOF-OPENS-CLEAN-/260913263203?pt=UK_Pet_Supplies_Poultry&hash=item3cbfa47263.

It isn't bad but I have no experience to go by.

If I was buying again I would have something with a bigger door to the run as I can't get in there. (maybe have the door at the end so its wider) I am also finding that the doors stick a bit but perhaps thats because of all the wet weather we have.
Sally
Life is like a bowl of cherries, mostly yummy but some dodgy bits

Sylvia

• Joined Aug 2009
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2012, 08:01:53 am »
Whereabouts are you? I buy mine from a young man who lives locally (South Devon) they are ark shaped, very sturdy, hold a dozen hens, easy to clean and £70 each.

Castle Farm

• Joined Nov 2008
  • Hereford/Powys Border. near Hay-on-Wye
    • castlefarmeggs
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2012, 03:31:55 pm »
Don't leave it out doors Bionic. It will fall apart in less than a year. Total rubbish I'm afraid.

The wood is to thin and the joints are just stapled. The doors will stick until one day you pull to hard and the wood splits.
Hundreds of these cheap imports have been sold in the UK and are worse than useless.
Traditional Utility Breed Hatching Eggs sent next day delivery. Pure bred Llyen Sheep.
www.castlefarmeggs.co.uk  http://www.facebook.com/pages/Utility-Poultry-Keepers/231571570247281

Bionic

• Joined Dec 2010
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2012, 03:37:33 pm »
Castle Farm,