Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Dark udders on drying off does  (Read 6841 times)

kouvra

• Joined Jul 2012
Dark udders on drying off does
« on: July 31, 2012, 07:30:28 pm »
I started a new job as a farm hand a few months ago (a place open to the public rather than a commercial business, like a giant petting zoo!) and although I have a degree in animal science, this is my first taste of practical experience with many of these species since I was a small child, so there's lots I don't know!!

Our two milking goats Thelma (a Saanen x Toggenburg) and Louise (a Nubian mix) left the public barn a week or two ago to dry off, and the barn they are in now is directly across from the muck heap. Whenever I go to empty wheelbarrows they run up towards me bleating, but I've noticed that both of their udders are starting to darken, turning a bruised-black colour. I thought drying off was supposed to be a gradual process, but these two went directly from being milked twice a day to not at all when they left the public barn. Should I be worried for their health, or is this darkening of the udder normal?

Thanks

wytsend

• Joined Oct 2010
  • Okehampton
Re: Dark udders on drying off does
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2012, 08:26:43 pm »
Nubians go dark as a matter of course as a result of exposure to bright daylight.....usuallu pinkish just after kidding and dark within a couple of weeks.   Your Saanen cross may have a dark skin naturally.
Don't let the udders overfill even if apparently dry......k.eep a close check & empty if necessary

Penninehillbilly

• Joined Sep 2011
  • West Yorks
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2012, 11:39:12 pm »
Do you know how much they were giving before 'drying off' sounds a rather sudden stop to me?

kouvra

• Joined Jul 2012
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2012, 06:42:07 pm »