Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: the heartbreak and the delight ! with a good dollop of determintation.....  (Read 2725 times)

pikilily

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Do what you enjoy; And enjoy what you do!!
Hi guys- back in the land of the living.  Ive spent the last two weeks staring a sheeps bums waiting for the girls to pop. (My day job is in gynacology- so it was sheeps bums at home and then..... ;) ;)...)

anyway its all over now, thank goodness.

1st ewe - twins - one leg back in number two.

2nd ewe - six days late, absolutely enormous ram lamb with stuck head and one leg out, dead at six in the morning! I had checked her only 1 1/2 hours earlier.... We couldnt shift it one way or t'other. So we had to cut its head off...and even then it was a tough job to move!! Oh, my friends, that was really horrid, really, really not for the faint hearted!!  :'( :'(

3rd ewe - triplets at same time as 2nd - thank goodness- so one fostered to bereaved mum above. It took me a week of supervising feeds, and trying to ignore the hungry little man's yells (and resist feeding him a bottle) before the penny dropped and she has decided she will let him feed.  She wanted him with her all the time just didnt want to feed him!! 

The two left with original mum are a comical pair...one was so tiny  and a bit frail I ended up having to warm him with heat pads and foil blankets (the sort for mountaineering) topped with straw.  Mmmmm!! hes now called Wellington! .... both lambs are now thriving... ;D ;D.

4th ewe - twins - one would have been 'hung' but spotted it early and was able to reposition!

So all in all, a bit of an emotional rollercoaster. I am still beating myself up about the dead lamb, but the concensus of all the experienced shepherds on hand was that we could not have got that lamb out alive even if I had been there at the begining of the labour!!

On a positive note - they are all happily bouncing about the back field and i can sleep in my own bed !!