Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Sel-spacing frames  (Read 7468 times)

Beewyched

• Joined Feb 2011
  • South Wales
    • tunkeyherd.co.uk
Sel-spacing frames
« on: April 15, 2012, 07:32:36 am »
Has anyone else tried using these?

I had a very quick peek under the board - took advantage of the 2 hours of sun we had yesterday  It's still too cold here to go in (I just knew that I should have done this during out mini heatwave in March  ::) )

It looks as though the frames have shifted, maybe due to the January gale, & that 3 or 4 of the middle frames have been welded together by my bees  ???

This is a National hive with 11 frames per brood.  I've never used self spacers before - I was more used to the old WBCs & metal frame spacers.  But as I was starting a new hive I thought I'd give them a go.

I've been looking at castellated spacers online - does anyone use these & what are the pros/cons compared to using the individual ones that slip onto the ends of the frames?   

:bee:

Tunkey Herd - registered Kune Kune & rare breed poultry - www.tunkeyherdkunekune.com

ZacB

• Joined Apr 2012
  • Suffolk
Re: Sel-spacing frames
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2012, 08:38:29 am »
We use Hoffman frames in our brood boxes, self spacing so no spacers etc & a dummy board. Good diagram's of frames on the Maisemore site. As the sides don't run all the way down less to weld together.

http://www.bees-online.co.uk/view.asp?ID=989

In the supers a different matter altogether though. We started off with Manley frames, again self spacing so nothing to do really other than put them in the box. Now that we have drawn frames we have fitted 9 slot metal castellations to the supers. Bee's drawn the wax out further, less frames to extract but same amount of honey ;D 

http://www.thorne.co.uk/hardware/hive-hardware/spacing-runners-and-entrance-fittings/spacing