Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Mastitis  (Read 6991 times)

Fishyhaddock

• Joined Apr 2009
  • aberdeenshire
Mastitis
« on: April 12, 2012, 12:09:47 pm »
Hi - looks like we have a ewe with mastitis. She gave birth yesterday and one udder was hard, producing a little bit of curd like substance but the other fine. Now this morning there appears to be no milk, even in the good udder, and both udders are very hard. We have called out the vet as the ewe appears to be in pain. I imagine the vet will say separate the lambs and bottle feed (which we have done this morning) but is there any hope for my 3 year old ewe?
Fishy 

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
Re: Mastitis
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 12:19:47 pm »
I have little experience with mastitis (just in one Texel ewe we borrowed as a foster mum) but it sounds as if you have caught it early enough, if there is no heat or inflammation in the udder.  The vet will probably give the ewe a long-acting antibiotic and get you to strip out both quarters regularly until the udder is cleared - but someone else who knows more about this will surely come along any minute........ :D
"Let's not talk about what we can do, but do what we can"

There is NO planet B - what are YOU doing to save our home?

Do something today that your future self will thank you for - plant a tree

Love your soil - it's the lifeblood of your land.

Fishyhaddock

• Joined Apr 2009
  • aberdeenshire
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2012, 12:24:40 pm »
Thanks fleecewife altho am a little bit concerned as one of her udders is swollen. Will let you know what the vet says...

jaykay

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Cumbria/N Yorks border
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2012, 12:46:09 pm »
Keep stripping out both sides, swollen or not. Massage it and get out whatever you can each time.