Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Yey!! All lambed out  (Read 5858 times)

pikilily

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Do what you enjoy; And enjoy what you do!!
Yey!! All lambed out
« on: April 08, 2009, 08:19:23 am »
Yippee...this is my first time lambing.

All five ewes have lambed. 11 lambs, no losses, f4 boys and 7 girls, all ewes and lambs fine.

I only had to assist with two of the lambs. One presented with just one hind leg and the other, a head and one foreleg. Thank god for my reasonable understanding of anatomy, cos working blind in the middle of the night, in driving rain and wind is not conducive to picturing what is going on inside the ewe. Excuse me while I give myself and my girls a big pat on the back. We didn't need any outside assistance!

God bless the full time shepherds, I take my hat off to them!  My lambing paddock is right next to our log cabin. So, I could snuggle down on the bed beside the wood burning stove, make myself hot cups of tea, and listen to music in between my hourly checks of the ewes. I could even just open the window and cast the torch beam around the paddock and listen for lambing sounds...I did have a giggle to myself in the middle of the night.....thinking that this must be the most luxurious shepherds hut in Scotland. Most shepherds I know have a beat up caravan in the field or just are out on their quads all night long.

So, Ill just blow my trumpet just once more...I feel like Shepherdess of the Year 2009!

Have tried to put up some photos but they get blocked, 'upload file full' is the message. And then the message disappears too...The pics are below the max size...any ideas what I can do to get some shots on the forum....Rosemary?

Cheers Emma
If you don't have a dream; how you gonna have a dream come true?

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
Re: Yey!! All lambed out
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2009, 08:33:34 am »