Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Milking equipment  (Read 17014 times)

colliewoman

• Joined Jul 2011
  • Pilton
  • Caution! May spontaneously talk rabbits!
Milking equipment
« on: March 31, 2012, 02:23:06 pm »
Hi guys!
It is rapidly approaching that time when I should hopefully be up to my ears in fresh goats milk, so perhaps I should start gathering the needed equipment.

What do you guys all use?
My milk will be for home use only if that makes a difference? Do in need a stainless steel pail or will a new plastic food grade bucket be ok?
I have, thanks to my fabulous husband now got a milking stand.
I have udder cream for afterwards, but what do you guys use to wipe the udder down with?
Where do you store your milk?
How do you chill it for storage?
Assume I am a complete newbie to the pleasures of milking goats, I can extract the stuff but then what? (I have milked them, just never been envolved with what happens to it afterwards!
All advice greatfully accepted :-*
Thankies!
We'll turn the dust to soil,
Turn the rust of hate back into passion.
It's not water into wine
But it's here, and it's happening.
Massive,
but passive.

Bring the peace back

tizaala

• Joined Mar 2011
  • Dolau, Llandrindod Wells,Powys
Re: Milking equipment
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2012, 03:08:48 pm »
I use an old ( 70 years approx ) alfa laval system with a stainless bucket , a bit over the top for just a couple of goats but I have problems hand milking due to an industrial injury . the unit was standing unused outside for a couple of years by the previous owners, so I begged it off them and replaced the electric motor , works fine.

little blue

• Joined Jun 2009
  • Derbyshire
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2012, 03:33:34 pm »
we (well, my husband - she won't let me!) milk into a squat jug, she isn't tall enough for a bucket & tends to knock it.
I hold the big pan & so the jug can be reguarly emptied into it.