Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Turkey for Christmas  (Read 4826 times)

The Relic

• Joined Mar 2009
  • County Down
Turkey for Christmas
« on: April 01, 2009, 12:12:43 pm »
Just to put another one out there was thinking of geting some Turkeys to fatten up for Christmas. Complete novice. Was thinking of about 10 birds for family and friends.
Any advise would be great. (when to buy, how old, space required, housing, costs, paperwork, anything else relevent)

jg

• Joined Mar 2009
  • gartmore
Re: Turkey for Christmas
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2009, 12:14:25 am »
want to do the same -not had any luck finding any locally-think I going to try hatching eggs- need toget them early in the year as there difficult to get later on in the year as everyone wants them in the autumn(so ive been told) you have to keep them away from chickens as they are delicate and die if a chicken sneezes near them(thats true) (well okif the chickens are carrying blackhead (or is it blackleg))no thats broad beans)

carl

• Joined Oct 2007
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2009, 09:10:44 am »
There are plenty of books available which will help with info on keeping turkeys, kate thear is one author I think who writes plenty about keeping all sorts of birds. turkey poults are widely available, try kelly bronze as they have agents nationally. or just google turkey poults for sale. like all livestock there is a right way and a wrong way, but turkeys are quite easy to rear, just big and daft. 

The Relic

• Joined Mar 2009
  • County Down
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2009, 12:17:45 pm »
big and daft just they way i like them. how old are they at slaughter weight. l

carl

• Joined Oct 2007
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2009, 01:11:33 pm »
how long is a piece of string? depends on how big you want them, when they were born, and how quick they have grown. more of a size thing than an age thing. :turkey:

gavo

• Joined Aug 2008
  • Belcoo, Enniskillen, N.Ireland
  • Crazy Pig Lover