Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Grass Sickness  (Read 8666 times)

sabrina

• Joined Nov 2008
Grass Sickness
« on: March 17, 2012, 11:23:24 am »
Friend just lost one of her best mares yesterday to grass sickness, 2nd person I have heard of this week.

harepits

• Joined Oct 2011
Re: Grass Sickness
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2012, 11:40:14 am »
How sad :0( virus in Hampshire also causing problems in Horse community, resulting in sudden death

lachlanandmarcus

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Aberdeenshire
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2012, 05:03:46 pm »
Im paranoid about it because a neighbour lost an endurance horse to it. Its why despite having bags of land, our two dont live out 24x7.

WaltDisneyWorld

• Joined Apr 2011
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2012, 07:00:21 pm »
I'm really new to keeping ponies (2 sheltands for Christmas :thumbsup:) could someone explain what grass sickness is please so I know what to look out for. Many thanks.

jesse

• Joined Mar 2012
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2012, 08:59:28 pm »
Its a bit like a severe colic, needs a vet for diagnosis really
Thats a worry its been in Hants, I'm nearby in surrey
, I found a link that has lots on info, but they dont really know for sure what causes it
Current research indicates a CLOSTRIDIUM bacteria in the soil, keeping the horse in good health helps them
stay unaffected, good gut health and no stress etc , but there are some environmental factors too, eg cool dry weather spells, or pasture previously affected

read here for more info and advice

http://www.grasssickness.org.uk/egsf-page.aspx?pageID=46

I refuse to have nightmares tho, I already do my best to keep the pasture in good condition , and my pony healthy. Wish there was a test kit ......

Sincere condolences to those horse owners who have lost beloveds

jesse
« Last Edit: March 24, 2012, 09:03:50 pm by jesse »

lachlanandmarcus

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Aberdeenshire
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2012, 03:47:38 pm »