Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: New kid and bottle feeding  (Read 4946 times)

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
New kid and bottle feeding
« on: March 16, 2012, 11:31:22 pm »
I've just bought a bottle and some milk powder for when my new little girl moves in.  Pom doesn't produce enough milk for us and her so I thought I would give her a mix of goat and powdered.  Would that be alrgiht, do you think?  I've not bottle fed before.

plumseverywhere

• Joined Apr 2013
  • Worcestershire
    • Its Baaath Time
    • Facebook
Re: New kid and bottle feeding
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2012, 07:26:49 am »
I'm not an expert so would wait for someone with more experience to come along but my 2 penneth is that goats milk would digest quicker and IF mixed feeding is OK I'd personally give the powdered feed as the last thing at night feed as that would take longer to digest, keeping the kid fuller longer?  I could be wrong  ;)

You will love bottle feeding!! Its such a lovely experience and you do build a great bond with your kid/lamb. My 8 year old gets up every morning 6.30am to feed her lamb with me while I do the other 2, despite me encouraging her to stay in bed she's adamant.
Smallholding in Worcestershire, making goats milk soap for www.itsbaaathtime.com and mum to 4 girls,  goats, sheep, chickens, dog, cat and garden snails...

wytsend

• Joined Oct 2010
  • Okehampton
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2012, 07:36:37 am »
Most experts agree that calf milk powder is best got goat kids.......lamb powder is rather to high in butterft.

I probably..... in the same situation would work on a 50/50 completely.....DON'T give only pwder milk at any one feed,  the kids internals simply couldn't cope with the different makeup  and it will scour badly.

If you have bought lamb powder   don't make up to the strength recommended.... make it a little weaker before adding it to goats milk on a 50/50 basis.