Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Vaccinations prior to kiding  (Read 2840 times)

poppy2012

• Joined Mar 2012
Vaccinations prior to kiding
« on: March 28, 2012, 09:02:04 pm »
HI there - this is my first year with Kidding goats, have sheep also and I was wandering if I should vaccinate with CD/T vaccination - one of ours is about 2 weeks before shes due and the other 3 - 4 weeks is it an essential vaccine - hoping to learn from the weathered goat owners...im sure its a yes, but thought it'd be worth asking :)
thank you  :goat:

Mays

• Joined Jul 2010
Re: Vaccinations prior to kiding
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2012, 09:09:22 pm »
I did mine with Lambivac 4 weeks prior to lambing  ::) kidding  :thumbsup:

Anke

• Joined Dec 2009
  • St Boswells, Scottish Borders
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2012, 09:16:40 pm »
Have your goats been vaccinated with Lambivac or Heptavac before (double dose?), if yes a booster anbout 4 to 6 weeks before kidding is all hat's needed (and from then on every 6 months or so).

If they haven't (or you don't know) I am not sure what the best way forward would be, as they need two doses 4 to 6 apart to become immune in the first place (same as sheep).

If they have been done before, just do both of them asap for their before-kidding-booster.

poppy2012

• Joined Mar 2012
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2012, 09:34:31 pm »
Thank you thats a great help - we were given them from a lady who couldnt cope - they had all the animals under the sun and came to us quite wild - theyre tamed now - i guess i should pop into the vet and check it out, i think i may have left it too late??!!  is there any other essential vaccinations i may not be aware of ?? Learning all the time, but their health is top of my list and want my ladies to be happy goaties :)

plumseverywhere

• Joined Apr 2013
  • Worcestershire
    • Its Baaath Time
    • Facebook
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2012, 08:24:15 am »
Hello Poppy!