Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: fighting geese  (Read 2618 times)

furfeathersandfun

• Joined Mar 2009
  • west wales
fighting geese
« on: March 31, 2009, 09:53:29 pm »
hi i'm fairly new to geese and have a flock of 6 embden geese, 2 of them are males and are literally ripping lumps out of each other, some of the females have joined in aswell now and one of the males is now being quite badly bullied by the rest of the flock, i have started seperating him at night, but i'm not sure if this is the right thing to do or if this will stop when the breeding season ends? can anyone offer me any advice thanks   :farmer:

jameslindsay

• Joined Feb 2009
  • Nr St Andrews, Fife
  • "Blossom" one of my Pygmy Goats
Re: fighting geese
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2009, 10:04:39 pm »
I too had 3 geese, all boys but during the breeding season they were vicious, one of them got hell from the other 2. I used to seperate them but they would fly to where the others were. I seperated them at night and then weeks later we locked them up together and in the morning the bullied one had been badly beaten up again. After the breeding season calm was restored.

The one that was bullied was eventually caught by the fox as he must have been the weakest of the 3. As much as I care for them and have a lot of time for them they can be bad buggers though!

furfeathersandfun

• Joined Mar 2009
  • west wales
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2009, 10:15:58 pm »
thanks for that, he's one of last years goslings so i hope he will be reaccepted by the flock when the season is over. regards tracey,  :farmer:

jameslindsay

• Joined Feb 2009
  • Nr St Andrews, Fife
  • "Blossom" one of my Pygmy Goats
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2009, 10:21:09 pm »