Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: which breed  (Read 3641 times)

michael

• Joined Jan 2012
  • castlewellan co.down
which breed
« on: January 31, 2012, 08:42:07 pm »
hello everyone

just joined,have lots of questions to ask,
 would like to know what would the best
 breed of sheep to buy to start on my new
 small holding,there is about 20acres,very
 rough lowland ground,full of wind bushes,parts
 of it is steep ground and very bogey ground
 hope you can help me out,I'm living in co.down
where the mountains of mourne sweep down to
the sea!!

princesspiggy

Re: which breed
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2012, 08:58:40 pm »
lucky you, i used to live near there and we had a school trip up the mountains of mourne. so beautiful.
choosing a native breed that suits your land makes it alot easier.
 :wave:

Remy

• Joined Dec 2011
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2012, 09:12:06 pm »
Maybe one of the primitive or hill breeds that are well adapted to rough grazing, I'm not an expert on the breeds though!  I think the primitives tend to be smaller overall.
1 horse, 2 ponies, 4 dogs, 2 Kune Kunes, a variety of sheep

squeasy

• Joined Jan 2012
  • North Yorkshire
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2012, 09:45:13 pm »
I would recommend Soays.  They were my introduction into sheepkeeping, they are wild and flighty but they have amazing characters.  They are a lot smaller than other sheep and I believe their meat tastes fantastic.  We are a little way off that but I have heard it from a number of sources.  But I am no expert and very new to this.  What do people nearby have - that must be a good place to start??? Good Luck it sounds lovely
Very new to this all.  (very) Smallholder since March 2011 

12 Registered Soay sheep (8 breeding ewes, 2 Rams, 1 wether, 1 retired ewe) 5 Hens, 2 Cats, 1 labrador puppy

Moleskins

• Joined Sep 2009
  • England
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2012, 11:03:04 pm »