Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Keeping each other company  (Read 5822 times)

melholly

• Joined Oct 2010
  • East Sussex
    • My Blog
Keeping each other company
« on: January 11, 2012, 11:04:33 am »
Morning all,

As a novice I just have probably a basic question to ask please? I have x2 Polled Dorsets who hopefully will have lambs late April (haven't got a scanner or anything like that so am assuming it's a case of fingers crossed Denzil the ram did his work?!) Anyway, the 2 Mums are in their own field at the mo. I have 5 others who are last years lambs and therefore didn't go to the ram this year separately. I have 3 x breed orphans and x2 PD's (the offspring of my Mums last year)

My question is this - can I put them all back together in one field a) pregnant and b) when they lamb? I am hoping (weather pending) to leave everything as natural as possible as have been told the PD's make good Mums and usually lamb ok.

Thanks all
Mx
http://selfridgestoscats.blogspot.com  **NOW UPDATED**
twitter - @southscouse

Padge

• Joined Aug 2009
    • Facebook
Re: Keeping each other company
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2012, 11:15:40 am »
Ive done exactly what you have suggested.
All the pregnant mums and last years offspring are now together and will remain so right through lambing. The only  problem i have encountered is that when feeding the pregnant Ewes i have to seperate the none pregnant.

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2012, 11:35:50 am »