Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Digging out a pond  (Read 6910 times)

Goldcraig

• Joined Jan 2012
  • North Ayrshire
Digging out a pond
« on: January 05, 2012, 07:11:16 pm »
Hola...We have a stream which flows through our land and I wondered if anyone had ever dug out a pond / hole in an existing stream? There is a good flow of water and the previous owner had made a small dam for his ducks which is still there. I am convinced that fish will be in the stream as I know where it flows and joins to.....Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks .... :farmer:
Trust me.....I'm a Chef !!

Goldcraig

• Joined Jan 2012
  • North Ayrshire
Re: Digging out a pond
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2012, 07:29:12 pm »
fish on your own land.....not a lot could top that for me....

bloomer

• Joined Aug 2010
  • leslie, fife
  • i have chickens, sheep and opinions!!!
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2012, 07:33:58 pm »
not sure on the law in Scotland i know there are issues with doing anything like that to any water source in England you need environment agency permission and they are a hard bunch to please.

my uncle has a small river flowing through his land and we moved some of the rocks in the water to create some deeper pockets of water to promote wildlife, his neighbour who is an interfering pain reported him and we had to break them all up even though we were enhancing the water for wildlife and not obstructing the flow in anyway.

The practicalities of building a pond in a stream are easy just be prepared for a lot of soggy wet mess!!!

Odin

• Joined Oct 2011
  • Huddersfield
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2012, 08:29:29 pm »