Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Clay Soil  (Read 5037 times)

Goldcraig

• Joined Jan 2012
  • North Ayrshire
Clay Soil
« on: January 01, 2012, 12:54:29 pm »
Hola, Looking to select an area for veggies soon and work it over. The soil has a high clay content and the drainage is very poor...I know I will most likely need to form raised beds, but wondered if there was any other solutions, and what I should add to the raised bed to mix with the existing soil to improve drainage....

Oh, and Happy New Year to you all  :thumbsup:
Trust me.....I'm a Chef !!

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook
Re: Clay Soil
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2012, 01:17:55 pm »
I have the same problem plus a high water table, so I am going for hip height raised beds with completely fresh soil.  (Easier on my old back and knees too  ;) )My son is going to build them from pallets and my cousin's partner is going to do the run to the 'cowp' to pick up the free soil.
Always have been, always will be, a WYSIWYG - black is black, white is white - no grey in my life! But I'm mellowing in my old age

darkbrowneggs

• Joined Aug 2010
    • The World is My Lobster
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2012, 01:25:42 pm »
I have exceedingly heavy clay soil, real brickmaking stuff

As well as adding compost rotted muck and washed sand as and when I can;  I dress with Dolomitic limestone and Gypsum 1:4 which works wonders with the soil texture.  I found the tip from Lawrence Hills and he reckons there is a chemical reaction which results in the fine particles of the clay combining to give a more crumby texture. 

Takes a while but year on year it has made an amazing difference to my soil
To follow my travel journal see http://www.theworldismylobster.org.uk

For lots of info about Marans and how to breed and look after them see www.darkbrowneggs.info

deepinthewoods

« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2012, 01:52:35 pm »