Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Ewe Lamb Vaginal and Rectal Prolapse  (Read 13192 times)

v10guy

• Joined Mar 2009
Ewe Lamb Vaginal and Rectal Prolapse
« on: March 11, 2009, 03:19:03 am »
wwwwwwwwheew...

it's been a long last few days.  Now keep in mind I am a newbie at sheep.  This is a first (& last) year lambing for this ewe.  Yesterday I found her out in the pasture with the prolapse's...tried the spoon, got several expert friends who have had sheep for decades and never had a prolapse like this.
Took her to the vet and he did two purse string sutures, one on the rectum and one on the vagina.  He also gave her a two week epidural to try and stop the pushing.  She is 14 days from lambing.

A few questions. 
The vet didn't give her any antibiotic, he thought it all looked really good.  I kinda wish she got an antibiotic just to be sure.  The rectal suture was too tight and she couldn't deficate, her stool was all bound up and pushing on the sutures, so I loosened the suture.  I hope it's correct now.  Should I go ahead and give her a shot of antibiotics?

How successful are these prolapse sutures using umbillical tape?  They look strong...They also look like they could invite infection.

I know this lamb won't be bred again.  I really have a soft spot, hence why I spent more at the vet than what she's worth at market.

Any thoughts or ideas?  I currently have her in the barn in a nice cozy stall.

buddy

• Joined Feb 2009
  • I really love my life, especially when its sunny
Re: Ewe Lamb Vaginal and Rectal Prolapse
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2009, 06:45:47 am »
Thats sounds a bit horrible for a newcomer, I hope she is not a lamb from last year. As she is inside you can keep her clean by washing her bits in hibiscrub as needed. If you have the antibiotics I would rather be safe than sorry and give her a shot if you think she isn't doing very well. I would also give her a bit of ivy as a pick me up. Good luck.