Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Lambs  (Read 5942 times)

xnbacon

• Joined Mar 2009
Lambs
« on: March 08, 2009, 07:18:54 pm »
Hi,
We're a bit new to this game and were contemplating getting a few lambs primarily for fattening to eat later this year.  What sort of price would I be looking at?  Given that I'm in the south-east England, does this mean the prices will be higher?

claireS

• Joined Feb 2009
Re: Lambs
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2009, 08:57:31 pm »
I am also new to this but have spoken to a person from Sussex who said that if u wait until April the farmers are virtually giving away orphan lambs. However around here (SW) I have been told to expect to pay £15-20 per orphan lamb. HOpe this helps

Claire

BadgerFace

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Sussex
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2009, 09:21:40 am »
Hi

I'm in Sussex. The going rate seems to be around £15 for good Cades. If your thinking  about store's they were making around £60 a head at the Mart last week, with Hoggets fetching around £80.

Check out the prices on South East Marts website  ;D Sheep prices are high at the moment.
Breeder of Pedigree Torddu Badger Face Welsh Mountain Sheep & Anglo Nubian Goats

lindy

• Joined Mar 2009
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2009, 04:32:42 pm »
Hello,
I'm in East Sussex and you can probably pick up a couple of cade lambs cheaply, but by the time you add up the cost of everything else i.e bottles, milk replacement powder, bedding, lamb nuts it is not a cheap way to rear meat. Also if you bottle feed lambs you will find them quite demanding and there is the risk you will become attatched to them. If you do end up sending them to the abattoir that will cost too as well as paying for them to be butchered. Just thought you should be aware of the cost first if money is a consideration.
Lynn

woollyval

• Joined Feb 2008
  • Near Bodmin, Cornwall
    • Val Grainger
    • Facebook
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2009, 06:58:25 pm »