Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: for the pot.....?  (Read 8001 times)

sellickbhoy

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Muiravonside, near Linlithgow
for the pot.....?
« on: March 04, 2009, 03:47:30 pm »
Hi

i'm planning on some chooks, but don't eat much eggs, so, i'm looking for something purely for the pot.

any suggestions?

I am gonna get 1 black rock as they are a gorgeous colour, but not much eating on them

tomandbarbara

• Joined Feb 2009
Re: for the pot.....?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2009, 07:44:39 pm »
Hello, I am relatively new to this myself, but i am rearing some sasso chicks for meat.
They are a medium size bird.
I believe Hubbards are supposed to be nice, but get quite large quickly.
Cobbs and Ross are big birds aswell but I have read that they don't taste as good as others.
If you need any contact info i think i still have it on file.

Hope this helps

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2009, 07:53:10 pm »
We had Hubbards last year and have them again now. We bought them day old and they should be ready between 10 and 12 weeks. Last year we had 5 - 4 cocks and one hen - we killed them at 12 weeks and they were between 5.5 and 7lb oven ready. the flavour was fabulous even day 3 in curry!

sellickbhoy

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Muiravonside, near Linlithgow
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2009, 09:26:50 pm »
rosemary

just out of interest, how much does it cost to buy day olds?

ta

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2009, 09:27:47 pm »
We paid £1.20 each.

harry

• Joined Mar 2009
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2009, 09:45:46 pm »