Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: my babies  (Read 4461 times)

littlelugs

• Joined Aug 2011
  • carmarthenshire
my babies
« on: August 30, 2011, 02:54:03 pm »
Hey all I'm a newbie pig keeper i bought two GOS last year one was supposed to be a sow in pig and the other a little gilt to keep mum to be company... anyway the due date for the little piggies came and went much to our dissapointment we had been duped :(
Anyway after reading various post on various forum and getting to know my girls i decided to have a go at AI. i ordered the necessary equipment and gave it ago.. 117 days later i was the proud grandma of 7 little GOS's 5 girls and 2 boys. they are now just 4 and a half weeks old and full of trouble  ;D .
The idea of the older sows is to keep them for breeding and the little newbies for the freezer (when old enough of course) my question is how on earth do you not get attached to them. they don't have names but i know each one just by its personality  :o
the other question is at what point do i need to book them into the abattoir and how do i arrange for them to be butchered i am in south wales and mattocks is about 20 Min's away do they do everything and what sort of cost will it be? sorry if this is long winded hope someone can help.
Lisa

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
Re: my babies
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2011, 05:20:36 pm »
Many congratulations on what sounds like a lovely litter.

I don't think it is possible not to get attached to them.  Just remember they'd not have been born if there weren't a need for meat, and that you are giving them a tremendous life, albeit it will be a shortish one.  None of us enjoys loading them for the abattoir when the day comes, but by the time the meat comes back we've grieved.  And if you need more time to grieve you can leave the meat in the freezer until you feel ready to eat it.