Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: How do you get a sheep flock MV accredited???????(Maedi Visa  (Read 14811 times)

Longwool Leicesters

• Joined Aug 2011
How do you get a sheep flock MV accredited???????(Maedi Visa
« on: August 19, 2011, 06:05:08 pm »
I am a small rear breed farmer in Northern Ireland and have 7 Long wool Leicester Black sheep I went over to Devon in July and purchased a further 7 ewes and 2 rams from 1 sale and then purchased another Ram from another farm, it has been a nighmare to get them to Northern Ireland with the DARD and DEPRA rules!!!!!!!!!! this flock is not MV accredited and would have been more simplar if they had been ...... update is 9 off them are arriving tomorrow and there has been a hickup with the Ram as he was unfit to travel due to a cold. These sheep in NI has to be isolated for 6 months I wish to ask anyone do they know how to MV accreadit a flock or can you get 1 MV accredted as this would mean the Ram would be in isolation only for 6 days and not 6 months. Please help I am despart. for correct information as the govering bodies do not know 1 hand from the other

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
Re: How do you get a sheep flock MV accredited???????(Maedi Visa
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2011, 06:22:03 pm »
Hi There  :wave:  Having exported sheep to NI I know what you must be going through  :(

Have your original sheep been blood tested for MV?  The imported ones must have been, so if the previous ones have been tested then getting accreditation could be that simple.  However, I don't know and it could be that you have to jump through hoops for a couple of years of blood testing to get your accreditation.  DARD must have an Animal Health section where you can get the information.  Sorry not to be much help, but I thought I would sympathise at least :)  You are right when you say that one hand doesn't know what the other is doing - or that was our experience.