Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: No eggs  (Read 2493 times)

maybelle

• Joined Sep 2010
  • worcestershire
No eggs
« on: August 05, 2011, 09:19:36 pm »
Hi, this is my first time posting on the poultry part of forum. I have 10 chickens and they are not laying any eggs. Is there anything I should be  doing to encourage them to be laying?  :)

robert waddell

Re: No eggs
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2011, 09:39:59 pm »
what age how old are they :farmer:

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2011, 10:44:31 pm »
If they have been laying fine for a while and suddenly no eggs there must be either a predator taking them - magpies, rats etc, or they are laying away from your nest boxes.  I keep my birds in theri run till lunchtime, b y which time most of them have laid, tehnt ehy get out to roam.  They are so used to that now that any late layers go abck to teh henhouse to lay.  The ducks however are daft and will lay anywhere, so since they usually lay before 10 am they are allowed out sooner.  Happy egg hunting - got any kids that would fancy a trail around looking for them tomorrow morning? ;D
Always have been, always will be, a WYSIWYG - black is black, white is white - no grey in my life! But I'm mellowing in my old age

princesspiggy

« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2011, 12:57:13 am »
ours go off lay when its hot.
we had one set of chooks up by our house and we never got eggs from them, but when we moved them to a different park,  they were laying well. i put it down to gutsy labrador squeezing thru pop hole and snaffling them everyday!!

northfifeduckling

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Fife
    • North Fife Blog
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2011, 08:18:46 am »
if they are laying elsewhere you can put a marble or ceramic egg into the nesting box.