Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Getting ahead of myself a little...  (Read 4623 times)

AndyMorton

• Joined Jan 2011
Getting ahead of myself a little...
« on: July 21, 2011, 01:16:41 pm »
As its my first year i was wanting to make sure that i have everything in place in plenty of time, and have ample opportunity to shop around for the best options/ prices etc.

Question is: what does eveybody add to their hive(s) for the winter period to help the bees maintain their temperature a little easier?

I've seen a couple of quilts/ reflective sheets in the Thornes catalogue - does anybody use these? How have you got on with them?

Also, ive seen a video on YouTube, think it was a chap in America if i remember correctly, who went to the extent of wrapping three sides of the hive in old carpet to cut down on the wind chill and add a little insulation at the same time. Does anybody go to this extent, or is this a little excessive?

Like i said, its well in advance and the vast majority of keepers are probably busy thinking about extracting the honey crop. But in my defence it's my first year and ensuring that they survive through winter seems to be constantly in the back of my mind!  ;D

:bee:

egglady

• Joined Jun 2009
Re: Getting ahead of myself a little...
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2011, 01:40:25 pm »
Andy, you're not getting ahead of yourself at all - good to think about these things well in advance....and given this is Scotland, who knows when winter will arrive ;)

it all depends on how cold this year is likely to be.  we have 5 or so hives in our wee village, 4 of them had insulation put in the roof space (above their fondant feed) and those that did, were up and raring to go much earlier in the year than those that weren't....might just be coincidence but think there is something in it if you ask me.