Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Lost jewellery? Tools? Equipment? Or just want to know what's there?  (Read 19574 times)

johnmac

• Joined Dec 2008
  • Perth
Hi all.

Had a thought last night.

As well as being a keeper of chickens and grower of veggies, and a fish farmer. On the weekends and evenings after harvest I'm also a metal detectorist! sad? Maybe, but it's good exercise and an easy way of finding some history!

I have permission to search various farms and fields in Perthshire and fife, bit always on the look out for more. Then I realised, smallholder = fields!

I've been doing it for about 12 years. A lot of farmers are keen to learn a bit of history about their land, and several have a framed collection of finds I've dug from their fields displayed on their walls. Add to that I've also found a wedding ring for a woman. A mobile phone for a farmer, who dropped it whilst planting tatties, and an irrigation fitting for another farmer.

So..... Do any forum members have a field or two, either pasture or ploughed that isn't totally overgrown that they would like searched? Maybe even a large garden?? If the house is over 100yrs old, there may have been people on that site for centuries! I'd happily give it a try, and if I find a gold torc it's halfers!!!

Below will hopefully appear a few of my finds to date, most from fields with no known written history! If there's no takers, maybe some folks will just find it interesting!

PS. I'm near Blairgowrie. Happy to travel through Perthshire, Fife, maybe even Stirling if the land is a plenty! ;-)

And I'm very responsible!!!

johnmac

• Joined Dec 2008
  • Perth
Re: Lost jewellery? Tools? Equipment? Or just want to know what's there?
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2011, 09:17:28 pm »
Forgot to attach pictures!!

This is a copper turner (2p) of Charles the second, around 1640

johnmac

• Joined Dec 2008
  • Perth
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2011, 09:24:44 pm »