Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Making Hay?  (Read 10011 times)

justfarming

• Joined Jul 2011
Making Hay?
« on: July 01, 2011, 10:52:38 am »
We have just taken over a few acres of grassed land and are trying to find out what is involved in making hay. I have tractor but am unsure what machines are needed to make the hay ie cutters, which bales are best, plastic coated or not.  The hay would be used for a horse feed with any excess being sold.  Any help welcomed!!

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
Re: Making Hay?
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2011, 12:51:06 pm »
Hello from north Cumbria.  We get long but not usually hot summer days here, usually breezy and sadly often showery.  It ain't easy to make hay!

I'm relatively new to farming but BH is a lifelong farmer and making hay is his passion - so I can tell you what I observe.

Up here it usually takes at least 4 days to make small-bale hay.  If the sun is hot and there's a good breeze and no rain at all you might bale on day 3. 

If you're in South Devon or Kent you will work the hay a lot less than I list here; you'll ruin it (turn it into dust) if you woofle as much as we do up here.  I hear tell that they don't woofle much in Yorkshire, either - no doubt someone on here from Yorks will be able to tell you more.

Day 1 - mow.  Let it wilt a bit and if it's a good drying day, strow it out (using a hay-bob) the same day, if not as soon as the conditions are right. 
Day 2 - assuming no rain (nor forecast for this day), woofle (shuffle it about, again using a hay-bob) once the dew is off it.  If the day is a good drying day, you might woofle it again later on.  If the day is showery but good weather is forecast for days 3 through 5, leave it alone today.
Day 3 - pretty much as day 2.  Stop woofling when it's dry right through of course.