Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: HELP possible pregnant sow !!!!!  (Read 4722 times)

welshlass181

• Joined Jan 2011
HELP possible pregnant sow !!!!!
« on: June 17, 2011, 03:59:25 pm »
Hola fellow TAS followers  ;D

As most of you know i am new to pig keeping.  We got a Kune/GOS a few weeks ago (she is one of the largest ones we have) and her belly is really distended  ??? none of the others are like this and they were wormed before we had them.  I know that the gestation is 3 months, 3 weeks, 3 days but is there any tell tale signs that a gilt is due to drop?  Only had horse and dog breeding exp and i am flapping a bit. 

Will she bag up? 

Does she need to be seperated from the others? (they're free range with 6 arks between them)

Does she need her own ark and pen?

Any/all advise is greatly appreciated lol major flap going on here now  :'(

Cobra

• Joined Jun 2010
  • Somerset
    • Millers Of Sedgemoor
    • Facebook
Re: HELP possible pregnant sow !!!!!
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2011, 04:34:18 pm »
If she starts showing milk at her teats shes 24 to 48 hrs away from dropping  ;D If you know when shes due in season, then if shes pregnant she wont swell up and redden around her lady bits  :) Other than that a scan?

If she is. then she will want her own space to farrow and make her own nest her own way; saying that if you have pens then a pig in a neighbouring pen can be quite a relaxant for her, but not the same pen, she will be protective.

Thats my limit I'm afraid, I have two her that I suspect are pregnant, some loving person let me boars in with them  ::) So I'm going along with they are and prepairing for it, if when the time comes they arnt, well hay-ho and move on. Better to prepare and watch than guess not ad get caught out.

welshlass181

• Joined Jan 2011
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2011, 06:02:17 pm »