Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: mulch  (Read 3069 times)

jacob and Georgina

• Joined May 2010
mulch
« on: May 26, 2011, 09:05:08 pm »
i am very new to veg and have made several posts already, i keep reading about mulch, just wandering if anyone can explain exactly what it is and weather it is essiential? i have heard of people using grass cuttings or bark? is this a good idea? i am growing quite a lot of veg in one area so would not be easy to only cover part of it so i want to know weather to bother or not? any replies greatly appreciated!!

Plantoid

• Joined May 2011
  • Yorkshireman on a hill in wet South Wales
Re: mulch
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2011, 11:45:33 pm »
Ideally mulch is a blanket of well rotted or inert material that will smother unwanted plants as/ before they grow through .

You have to be carefull what you use..
 A thick mat of green grass cuttings will attract all sorts of pests such as slugs and also produce various moulds that damage your crop if the ground is wet or there is a lot of wet weather .
Well rotted , turned , loose ,aireated grass cuttings are good to retain moisture in dry conditions .

If you have established plants  a fairly fine mulch it  can be used , but I'd be wary of using bark chips in my veg plot for it takes a long time to rot down and robs the soil of nitrogen the plants need as it consumes it when rotting down. I seem to recall it takes something like 6 yrs or more to fully rot .

Be careful of using the " mulch cum garden soil improvers "  that are made in the local authority compost heaps .... they frequently tend to be full of pests and all sorts of prennial weeds as they are not composted long enough nor made hot enough to kill seeds and pests ( by adding gypsum and bacterially live animal manures. )
International playboy & liar .
Man of the world not a country

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community